This is my 365 photography project..

Err 01 and Dust On My Canon EOS

On the last day in Labuan Island yesterday, I was being surprised by my Canon EOS 40D old technical problems.

The first one is about dusts on my pictures I snapped, especially when I capture any blue sky. I tried using manual sensor cleaning in menu, but the dusts still exist. You can see clearly the dusts on the above picture of Labuan Stadium I took in the morning.

The second one is the program error ‘ERR 01’. I had sent this problem to Canon Service Center before. I Googled about it and found tons of similar problems:

* Battery problems — needs to add battery grip as IS uses more power to operate. This doesn’t make sense since the 17-85mm has IS but have been using it for more than a year. I was also using a battery grip with two fully-charged original batteries in it.
* Lens contacts need cleaning. Took a pencil eraser and cleaned the contacts in the lens (the gold-plated part inside) to no avail. I did the same with camera body. Both contacts look like they’re in pristine condition with no hints of oxidation or whatever.
* IS motor problem. Tried turning off IS and set the lens to manual and still the same. Then, I discovered that when the lens is half to fully extended, it works fine but when set at about 17mm to 35mm, the problem occurs.
* Loose screws. Check the entire lens and all the tiny screws in it but everything is intact.

I’ve exhausted all possible solutions and quick fixes so all I can do now is send it to Canon’s Service Center. [+ Yugatech Philippines ]

Now, I am having doubts with Canon build quality. I have been using my Canon EOS 40D for precisely two years already.

4 responses

  1. Cheo

    I’m having the same problem (err 01)on my canon xs/1000d but only when I mount an old sigma 70-210 and also with a sigma 28-105mm f2.8. both these lenses work on my eos a2e film but not on my digital 1000d and the error (01) is not consistnt. Sometimes I get the error between 28mm and 45mm but not after 50mm to 105mm and other times after just mounting the lens it works at all zoom ranges. I also use an old (1996) eos Ef 28-105mm usm from my a2e film camera on my 1000d and never have a problem; so I’m thinking it is a lens problem or lens not understanding body language -pun intended. I’ve turned to (USED) nikon d40x (ebay very inexpensive) and never any problems. I’m also liking my images better/sharper and I think lenses are better constructed. I’ve become fearfull of canons problems and wasting my hard earned $$.

    April 7, 2010 at 3:06 pm

    • dont they (nikon users) have problems too with their cameras? just wonder..

      thanx dude for dropping by here.. cheers

      April 7, 2010 at 3:56 pm

  2. DrSinga

    saya ada satu sahaja lense..
    🙂
    tak pernah buka..
    so..
    tak ada dust masuk..
    🙂

    November 27, 2010 at 4:44 pm

    • bravo doc.. muger2 xde masalah lain ghitewww 😉

      November 28, 2010 at 6:55 am

Leave a Reply

